Edit ModuleShow Tags

MK Mom: Tara Rahe




Tara's brood

A while back, Tara Rahe became MetroKids' 1,000th Twitter follower. We recently caught up with the mom from North Wilmington, DE, and found out a bit about her busy blended-family life.

Tell us about your family: "I am divorced and remarried. I have two children and two stepchildren. My daughter Molly is 12 years old; my son Alex is 11. My stepsons are Andrew (17) and Dillon (13). So that's a 5th grader, two 7th graders and a junior. My kids go to school in Delaware County, where their dad lives, and my stepsons go in Dover. They don't have a lot of time together but they all get along. My husband and I met first in high school in the late '80s and reconnected a couple of years ago after my divorce. My ex and my hubby get along. We all do. It's a peaceful loving family."

What are your favorite ways to spend time together: "I love to spend time with my kids fishing or going to amusement parks. I have a couple of adrenaline junkies."

Do you have any favorite kid spots: "We are quite fond of Longwood Gardens and also enjoy Six Flags Great Adventure. Our favorite beach spot is Cape Henlopen, DE. We also enjoy Bellevue State Park."

Favorite kid-friendly restaurant: "Moe's and Red Robin. My kids also love Two Stones Pub on Nammans Rd., Wilmington."

The best-kept kid secret in your town: "Stratosphere Trampoline Park on the Riverfront in Wilmington. Oh, my, you can wear out some kids there — and get a workout yourself."

Any summer fun plans? "Time will be spent swimming at my mother's pool, day trips to the beach and hopefully some gardening."

How do you use MetroKids as a resource: I like to check out local events for the kids.  It's a good resource to find free and inexpensive things to do!

Want to be an MK Mom? Tell us why in the nomination form under the comment box and we may feature you in an upcoming edition.

Edit ModuleShow Tags

Related Content

Meet Our August CoverKid: Ashley B.

Our August 2016 CoverKids, Ashley B., is a strong, determined young woman who has already designed a clothing line and plans to pursue a career as a writer and model.

Meet Our June Cover Kid - Lachlan R.

Hooray for summer! Our June CoverKid talks about his favorite shore points and amusement park attractions.

Meet our May CoverKid — Audrey K.

Meet Audrey K. from Paoli, PA, our May CoverKid.

Add your comment:
Edit ModuleEdit ModuleShow Tags

Edit ModuleShow Tags

Edit ModuleShow Tags


MomSpeak

The voices of local moms
The Day Nobody Believed I Was in Labor

The Day Nobody Believed I Was in Labor

What happens when a fourth-time mom thinks she's in labor but no one believes her?

Comments


MomSpeak

The voices of local moms
Why You Should Join Your Kids on a Camp Field Trip

Why You Should Join Your Kids on a Camp Field Trip

Make priceless memories when you tag along with your kids on a camp field trip.

Comments


MomSpeak

The voices of local moms
Healthy & Eco-Friendly Back-to-School Tips

Healthy & Eco-Friendly Back-to-School Tips

Make school even safer with healthy meal choices and toxin-free school supplies.

Comments

I am nominating myself:

(Go here instead if you want to nominate someone else)

Name:

City:

State:

E-mail address:



Please use an e-mail address you check frequently as this is how we will contact you if you are selected.

 

I am a...

Mom       Dad
Grandparent

Do you have a blog? If so, please provide a link:
(Not required)

 

In 200 words or less, tell us why we should feature you in our magazine.
Some ideas: What makes your family unique? Are you passionate about where you live or involved in your community? What is your occupation? What do you love most about being a parent or grandparent?

If selected, could you provide instructions for a unique extra activity for our readers, such as a family recipe or a kids' craft activity? If so, please tell us your idea in a phrase:

 

{/if}